The Aulik Award

The Jack Aulik Award is presented each year by the Wisconsin Association of Treatment Court Professionals (WATCP) to an individual or organization in recognition of outstanding contributions to the advancement of Wisconsin’s problem-solving court movement.  The award is named in honor of Judge Jack Aulik, who served as the Dane County Circuit Court Judge from 1986-1998.  He is credited for launching Wisconsin’s first drug court.  The Aulik Award recipients have demonstrated extraordinary leadership in promoting the establishment, effectiveness and/or sustainability of problem-solving courts throughout the state. Their efforts have had an impact on the problem-solving court movement, thus positively affecting the lives of Wisconsin’s citizens to break the cycles of addiction, mental illness and criminal activity, while increasing public safety.  

WATCP is now accepting nominations for the 2018 Aulik Award. Email nominations to Jodi Severson ( by February 15, 2019. 

2017 Aulik Award Recipient - Judge John Markson

WATCP President Emily Nolan- Plutchak, President-Elect J.C. Moore with 2017 Aulik Award recipient, Judge John Markson

PAST RECIPIENTS20160426_015347WATCP President Emily Nolan-Plutchak with 2016 Aulik Award recipient, Patrick Isenberger, and Court of Appeals Judge Lisa Stark (former Eau Claire County Circuit Court Judge)-

Lila's award (2)

2015  Shelly Cern, The First Statewide Drug Court CoordinatorC

Judge Sarah O’Brian presenting the 2014 Aulik Award to Lila Schmidt. Dane County,           First Drug Court Coordinator in the State of Wisconsin

2013 – The Office of the Wisconsin State Public Defender

2012 – Assistant District Attorney Kenneth Farmer, Dane County,

First Drug Court Assistant District Attorney

2011 – Jane Klekamp, Director of Justice Support La Crosse County

2010 – Judge Lisa Stark, Drug Court Judge Eau Claire County

2009 -Judge Elliott Levine, Founding President WATCP

2008 – Judge Jack Aulik (Posthumously), Dane County,

First Drug Court Judge in Wisconsin

2007 – Judge John Perlich, Drug Court Judge La Crosse County

2005 – Judge Steward Schwartz, Drug Court Judge Dane County